Govan hogbacks redisplayed

Govan hogback stone

‘Viking’ hogback gravestone at Govan Old Parish Church (from Sir John Stirling-Maxwell’s Sculptured Stones in the Kirkyard of Govan, 1899).


Last week at my other blog Heart Of The Kingdom I mentioned that the hogbacks have recently been moved to their new positions in Govan Old Parish Church. I also posted a link to a nice gallery of photographs from the Facebook page of the Weaving Truth With Trust project. These images are well worth seeing, so I’m re-posting the gallery link below.

The Govan hogbacks redisplayed

* * * * * * *

5 comments on “Govan hogbacks redisplayed

  1. ritaroberts says:

    Thank you for the link to the Hogbacks photo’s Tim. There seems to be quite a lot of them and I can see why they are called Hogbacks But what is the history to them. ?

  2. tsmorangles says:

    For foreigners like me, Hogbacks stones can be found in Durham near the cloisters of the cathedral. Seeing is not only believing but understanding. It would be great if you could post all your hogbacks together R and L side but also thw front part because it gives an impression of comprehensive knowledge how the stone works.

    • Tim says:

      Eventually I hope to look at each hogback individually in a series of posts at my Govan blog, with photos of both sides and the carved ends. I’ll be visiting the church next month to see the stones in their new positions and take pictures. I’m not much of a photographer, but I’ll see what happens.

      I have yet to see the hogbacks on the east side of the Pennines but the ones at Penrith are in the link mentioned in my reply to Rita above.

Leave a Reply

