5th Anniversary

Pictish stone Aberlemno
The Senchus blog is 5 years old today.

Back in 2008 it began as a notepad or jotter for various historical musings, but I’m not sure how to describe it now.

Thanks to everyone who has given input via the comment threads, where many interesting discussions have taken place over the years. And special thanks to Michelle Ziegler for pointing me towards WordPress, which has certainly made the admin side easy and straightforward.

Future plans? Hard to say, but I’ll probably just continue as before. Plenty of ideas for new posts in the pipeline. The biggest problem, as always, is finding enough time – a familiar tale to those of you who run your own sites in the Blogosphere.

* * * * * * *

18 comments on “5th Anniversary

  1. Congrats! Always something special here. Thanks

  2. kevin halloran says:

    An excellent and nicely presented resource, Tim. Much of the content, though always fascinating, is a little too far north and a little early for me to comment (well, at least to comment sensibly or authoritatively!) but I read everything posted. Watch out for my next article in the September issue of Northern History: it suggests historians have got one aspect of the Scandinavian history of Northumbria completely wrong and hopefully it might be of some interest to people on here.

  3. David Hillman says:

    I like the Senchus blog not only for its very interesting content, but also for the courteous welcome you give to all who comment.

  4. Jo Woolf says:

    Well done! Love your Pictish birthday symbol. Keep up the good work!

  5. kevin halloran says:

    Tim,
    I will, of course, send you a copy. Apologies for the unashamed plug! David is quite right: you (and Jonathan Jarrett, too) are unfailingly polite, welcoming and considerate. I fear that with Mick Deakin and Michael Wood re-opening the Brunanburh debate in the near(ish) future that you might have to reopen the topic. God forbid!

    • Tim says:

      Brunanburh will certainly make a reappearance here in the near future. I was almost tempted to revisit the topic a couple of weeks ago, after perusing Stephen Harding’s Viking Mersey in the gift shop at Jorvik, and again last week while gathering info on Owain of Strathclyde for a Govan project. I do need to get down to the 937 logistical stuff before too long, but a quick blogpost might be just the ticket to keep the pot simmering 😉

  6. Happy Anniversary! Hild wouldn’t be what it is – er, take that how you like 🙂 – without you and Michelle and Jonathan and others. So thank you. And I can’t wait to see future posts.

  7. carla says:

    Happy anniversary! I rarely comment, but I always read with interest. Here’s to the next 5 years!

    • Tim says:

      Thank you, Carla. Btw, I’m looking forward to your next blogpost on the location of Rheged.

      • carla says:

        Thanks for your interest! I think my conclusion is not too far from yours, so there probably won’t be any great surprise for you 🙂 With my historian’s hat on I’d say the evidence, such as it is, could probably be consistent with almost any location along the western side of Britain between Lancashire and Strathclyde. With my novelist’s hat on, I have to put it somewhere, so I have (and I’ll outline it in the next post), but I don’t claim it’s the ‘right’ answer. I’ll be interested in your thoughts!

        • Tim says:

          Even when we adopt a cautious approach to these ‘lost’ kingdoms, there are times when we just have to close our eyes and pin the tail on the donkey 😉

  8. I’m so far behind with blogs that I’ve only just found this, so some very late congratulations to you Tim and many happy returns! Senchus is one of the most readable and yes, welcoming, blogs I follow, you are an example to us all 🙂

Leave a Reply

