Big Roman Week

Antoninus Pius

Antoninus Pius


Antoninus Pius, the Roman emperor who commissioned the Antonine Wall, was born on 19 September in AD 86. His birthday is marked in the Falkirk district by an annual event celebrating the local Roman heritage, which includes a section of the Wall. This year the ‘Big Roman Week’ takes place from 14-22 September. It offers a good mix of interesting activities and is well worth a visit.

In fact, the whole thing sounds great and I really wish I could turn up for a day or two. It’s such a brilliant way of enabling people to engage with their area’s ancient history. The event is co-ordinated by The Friends of Kinneil, a local heritage group involved with the Kinneil estate at Bo’ness on the southern shore of the Firth of Forth.

Here’s a link to the list of events in Big Roman Week

and a link to The Friends of Kinneil

* * * * *

I’ve not blogged much about the Antonine Wall but I’ve written about it in my book on the Picts and visited its surviving remains in the Rough Castle area. A few years ago I discussed the origins of the name Kinneil, a place mentioned by the Venerable Bede in AD 731.

* * * * * * *

4 comments on “Big Roman Week

  1. ritaroberts says:

    I certainly wish I could be at The Big Roman Week. Maybe there will be some pictures on your blog and I will content myself with that. Thank you.

  2. bigromanweek says:

    Hi Rita – we’ll be tweeting stuff from Big Roman Week via http://www.twitter.com/kinneil and through our Facebook page at http://www.fb.com/kinneil (just “like” for updates!) – Adrian Mahoney, The Friends of Kinneil

  3. badonicus says:

    I would love to be up there and attend that. Will keep an eye out for the Tweets.

Leave a Reply

