Merlin update

Scotland's Merlin

Merlin depicted by Aubrey Beardsley (1872-98)


Today I’ve learned that my new book Scotland’s Merlin is about to be sent away for printing and binding. Publication is now only a few weeks away.

It seems a long time since I started writing this book (back in May 2015) and I’m looking forward to seeing the finished product. I’m especially pleased with the cover, which really captures the Merlin I’ve described in the text – a “wild man of the woods” rather than the mystical wizard of Arthurian lore. The design is by James Hutcheson who has created the covers of all my books. It incorporates an image of Merlin from a medieval manuscript.

Scotland's Merlin

I’ll be posting more updates as the publication date draws nearer. In the meantime, the essence of the book can be found in a blogpost from December: On the trail of Scotland’s Merlin.

* * * * * * *

16 comments on “Merlin update

  1. Zack says:

    I guess the well of ideas offers the same water to everyone! I’m so glad you wrote this and the timing is excellent. I am writing a novel series that I started in May 2015 that is based around the Merlin of Arfderydd. I’m excited to buy your book as a reference… you’re an excellent source of knowledge! Thank you sir.

  2. Cover looks terrific. Should separate yours from others

  3. ritaroberts says:

    Good ,luck with your book Tim. Its a popular subject so I am sure it will sell really well. Love the cover.

  4. Paula de Fougerolles says:

    Congratulations! Looks great. Can’t wait to read it.

    Paula de Fougerolles Avenue de Neptune 15 1410 Waterloo, Belgium Mobile: +32 (0) 472 97 09 62 Home: +32 (0) 2850 2384 Twitter:@PauladeFoug paula@pauladefougerolles.com Author: “The Chronicles of Iona” Book 1: “Exile” Book 2: “Prophet” Kirkus Reviews Best of 2012 ForeWord Reviews Book of the Year Award Silver Prize Winner

    >

  5. Jo Woolf says:

    How exciting! Looking forward to it. 🙂

  6. Ian Malcolm says:

    Thanks v much Tim. I’m really looking forward to this.

    • Tim says:

      Cheers Ian. I’m still hoping to attend one of the Aberlady events in the near future. Seems to be a lot going on at the moment.

  7. Gareth says:

    I’ve read Count Nikolai Tolstoy’s ‘The Quest for Merlin’ innumerable times, so this would appear to be an automatic purchase.

  8. Tim says:

    That’s good to hear, Gareth. Tolstoy’s book was certainly a milestone – and it sparked my own interest in Merlin thirty years ago. There’s quite a lot of common ground between his ideas and mine, but also a number of significant differences (mainly on the pagan/Christian issue).

  9. inner exile says:

    Worthy of note is a book by Scotsman Adam Ardrey, titled “Finding Merlin. The Truth behind the Legend of the Great Arthurian Mage” (2013/2007) that also deals with Lailoken (vs. St Kentigern/Mungo) in 6th century Britonic Strathclyde. It’s not a flawless piece of historical speculation but is still useful to a certain (converging) degree – see my review and reference/heads-up to your upcoming treatise in the comment section:

    http://www.amazon.com/Finding-Merlin-Behind-Legend-Arthurian/dp/1468303325?ie=UTF8&ref_=cm_cr-mr-title

    • Tim says:

      Adam Ardrey’s theories are indeed interesting and I’ve always liked his pacy writing style. I’ve cited Finding Merlin a few times in my own book, as we both cover a lot of the same ground. Thank you for posting the link to your review (a detailed and informative analysis, I might add). And thanks also for mentioning my work – not only my latest book but also The Men of the North.

Leave a Reply

